How To Reset Netgear Router To Factory Settings?

reset Netgear router to factory settings

There are several reasons why a router has to be reset Netgear router to factory settings. Resetting will help when your Netgear router is not functioning properly. There are other issues that might cause your router not to work, thus making use of the reset will fix these following issues.

  • The Netgear router does not have enough strength.
  • The Netgear router is not working.
  • You have forgotten the login credentials of your Netgear router.

If you have the router placed in proximity and still facing the error, you might make use of the Reset button.

Describing the steps to reset the Netgear router.

  • First of all, you have to ensure that you have the Netgear router is connected to the power source.
  • Now, turn your Netgear router to its rear end.
  • Some Netgear routers come with a default Reset button. So if you just press the Reset button on the router, you will find the lights go off and on again.
  • On other Netgear router models, there will be a small hole close to one of the Ethernet slots.
  • Please take out a paper clip and gently insert it into the Reset hole of the router.
  • Press the reset button for at least 5-10 seconds.
  • You will see the router rebooting, and the lights will go off and will turn on again.
  • The Power LED on the router will start blinking once the reset is complete.
  • The LEDs will stop blinking, thus indicating the Netgear router is reset to its factory settings.
  • Now, you can connect the Netgear router to your ISP (Internet Service Provider) by entering the Netgear router IP address in the browser.
  • The Netgear login page will open.
  • Enter the default login credentials (Present at the back of the router).
  • Username: admin
  • Password: password
  • The Netgear router page will now open.
  • Connect the Netgear router to your ISP and complete the process, reset Netgear router to factory settings.

Related Articles

Top